National Chronicle

Delhi Metro Pink Line inauguration: Union Minister and CM Kejriwal inaugurate metro operation between Trilokpuri to Mayur Vihar Pocket I

Delhi Metro Pink Line

New Delhi: Union Urban Development Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal inaugurated Metro operation between Trilokpuri to Mayur Vihar Pocket I on Pink Line through video conferencing. This made Metro service available from Shiv Vihar to Majlis Park on about 59 km network of Pink Line. In the fourth phase, the Pink Line is being extended from Majlis Park to Maujpur. After the completion of the fourth phase corridor, the length of the Pink Line will be 70 km.

Although this corridor is only 290 meters long, but with the commencement of metro operation on this short corridor, direct metro will be available from Shiv Vihar to Majlis Park on the entire 58.59 km stretch of Pink Line. This will improve the connectivity between East Delhi to South Delhi, West Delhi and Outer Delhi. The Pink Line has been made parallel to the Rag Road.

Its purpose is to reduce the vehicular pressure on the Ring Road. So far, the Metro is operating on two parts of the Pink Line. Metro is operating between Majlis Park to Mayur Vihar pocket on one part and between Trilokpuri to Shiv Vihar on the other. Between these two corridors, 290 meters from Trilokpuri to Mayur Vihar Pocket One station was caught in a land dispute.

This delayed its construction. After the land dispute ended, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) completed the construction of this corridor with steel guards. Therefore, now the entire part of the Pink Line is interconnected. Therefore, as soon as the operation between Trilokpuri and Mayur Vihar Pocket One starts, the entire corridor of Pink Line will be opened for passengers.

This will make the Pink Line the biggest corridor of the Delhi Metro. Its 39.48 km part is elevated and 19.11 km part is underground. There are total 38 metro stations on this corridor. Out of this, 26 are elevated and 12 are underground metro stations. The total length of the same Blue Line is 56.61 km.

Related posts

Kejriwal launches Red light On, Gaadi off campaign

NC Team

Karnataka ‘drops’ Class 7 chapter on Tipu Sultan

NC Team

Locusts unleash new lifeline for ‘bandwallahs’

NC Team

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More