National Chronicle
National Top News

Its one year of Pulwama attack make a round up

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh on Friday paid tribute to CRPF personnel, who lost their lives in Jammu and Kashmir in Pulwama on February 14 last year, when their convoy was attacked by a suicide bomber wearing a Jaish suit. e-Mohammad (JeM) based in Pakistan.

“Recalling the fallen CRPF personnel who were martyred during the cowardly attack in Pulwama (Jammu and Kashmir) on this day in 2019. India will never forget their sacrifice,” Singh tweeted.

He said that the whole country is united against terrorism and “all are committed to continue fighting against this threat.”

At least 40 people from the CRPF died after the 78-bus convoy, in which around 2,500 people traveled from Jammu to Srinagar, was attacked.

After the attack, India launched great diplomatic efforts to get JeM chief Masood Azhar to be designated as a global terrorist, which finally came true on May 1 last year when China lifted its technical control over a proposal submitted by United States, United Kingdom. and France in the 1267 Committee of the UN Security Council. Around 12 days after the terrorist attack, at dawn on February 26, Indian Air Force (IAF) planes bombed the JeM camp in Balakot, in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province in Pakistan.

A day later, on February 27, the IAF thwarts an attempt by the Pakistan Air Force (PAF) to attack military installations in Jammu and Kashmir. In the skirmish, wing commander Abhinandan Varthaman who was flying a MiG-21 Bison plane shot down a very advanced F-16 from PAF.

However, his plane was also hit and, when he was expelled, his parachute landed in PoK, where he was captured by Pakistan’s army. Under international pressure, Pakistan released the IAF pilot two days later, who returned to his country to receive a hero.

Related posts

Indian-origin doctor who survived Covid-19 working on drugs to beat it

Team NC

China sends mixed signals to India over border stand-off

Team NC

Pak govt to allow oppn alliance to stage rallies

Team NC

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More