National Chronicle
National Top News

Uddhav Thackeray will take oath at Shivaji Park today, to be 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray will take oath as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Thursday (28 November). He is the third Shiv Sena leader to hold the post after Manohar Joshi and Narayan Rane. Thakre (59) will be sworn in as chief minister a month after the Maharashtra assembly election results are declared on October 24. Uddhav Thackeray will take oath as Chief Minister of Maharashtra at Shivaji Park in Mumbai around 6:40 pm.

Thackeray is the candidate of Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress alliance for the post of Chief Minister of Maharashtra. A confirmation letter has been issued by the office of Governor BK Koshyari after Thackeray claimed to have formed the government. The Governor’s office has confirmed the date for allowing the swearing in ceremony at Shivaji Park in Mumbai.

New political equations were seen in the state after the election results were declared. Soon after the election results came, Thackeray reminded the ally BJP of his promise to share the chief minister’s post. But BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis denied that any such promise was made. Angered by this, Thackeray stopped talks with the BJP on government formation and said he could not tolerate being called a liar.

The break-up of the alliance between the saffron parties saw a new alliance, in which two different ideological parties came together. On one hand, there is Shiv Sena, which is on the path of Hindutva, on the other hand there are Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with a completely different ideology.

NCP chief Sharad Pawar was seen as the architect of the new alliance, who himself has been chief minister four times. Sharad Pawar became chief minister for the first time on 18 July 1978, when he toppled the Congress government to form a new government under the Progressive Democratic Front coalition. However, this coalition government remained in power until 17 February 1980, when the then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi dissolved it.

Pawar returned to the Congress once again as Chief Minister from 25 June 1988 to 3 March 1990. His third term ran from March 4, 1990 to June 25, 1991, when he was inducted into the Narasimha Rao cabinet as defense minister. He was repatriated to Maharashtra after the Mumbai riots and was Chief Minister from March 6, 1993 to March 13, 1995.

At the same time, the (late) leader of the Congress, Vasantdada Patil was the Chief Minister of the state four times. This includes his tenure from March 7 to July 17, 1978, Pawar dropped his government. After the formation of Maharashtra in 1960, Yashwantrao Chavan became the first Chief Minister. He held this position for nearly two and a half years, after which he was appointed as the Minister of Defense after the war with China.

The only Muslim Chief Minister of the state was AR Antulay (9 June 1980 to 12 January 1982). He had to resign over allegations of corruption. Manohar Joshi was the Chief Minister from 14 March 1995 to 30 January 1999. At the same time, Narayan Rane became the Chief Minister on February 1, 1999 when Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray decided to hand over the reins to him in place of Joshi. Rane held the post till 17 October 1999, when the Shiv Sena-BJP decided to hold the assembly elections ahead of time.

Devendra Fadnavis was the first BJP chief minister in the state. There are two records to his name. He is the first Chief Minister of Maharashtra to complete his tenure after Vasantrao Naik. However, in his second innings, he was chief minister for only four days. He was sworn in on 23 November and resigned on 26 November after the Supreme Court ordered a strength test in the Assembly. Congress leaders Sushil Kumar Shinde, Ashok Chavan, (late) Vilasrao Deshmukh and Prithviraj Chavan have also been chief ministers of the state. Thackeray will be the 28th Chief Minister of the state in terms of tenure.

Related posts

Know Your Heroscope 2021: Pisces Yearly Horoscope 2021

Team NC

Rail services resume partially

Team NC

Voters keep parties on edge in MP by-polls

Team NC

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More